NVM Express Recognizes Outstanding Contributions to the NVMe® 2.0 Specifications


NVM Express is excited to announce the honorees of the NVM Express® (NVMe®) 2.0 Specifications Award. These awards recognize key members of the NVM Express Technical Working Group that made significant contributions to the NVMe 2.0 specifications.

Released in June 2021, the NVMe 2.0 specifications were refactored to meet the evolving demands of the future of storage and to support the increasingly diverse NVMe device environment. This refactoring also allowed for developers to better utilize the core foundation of the NVMe 2.0 base specification and focus on the key transports and features that are needed for their specific use cases.

Find the full list of award recipients below:

Major Contributors/Specification Owners:
Nick Adams, Intel
Paul Suhler, KIOXIA (NVMe Zoned Namespace refactoring)
Bill Martin, Samsung (NVMe Key Value refactoring & Namespace Types)

Significant Participants in Refactoring Task Group (consistent feedback/review) for 1yr+:
Christoph Hellwig, Western Digital
Yoni Shternhell, Western Digital
Fred Knight, NetApp
John Geldman, KIOXIA
Curtis Ballard, Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Detailed Feedback on NVMe Specifications Refactoring:
Jim Hatfield, Seagate Technology
Mike Allison, Samsung
Judy Brock, Samsung

NVM Express would like to thank those who contributed to the development of the NVMe 2.0 specifications. Our dedicated membership comprised of industry experts allows for NVMe technology to continue to evolve as the language of storage. We look forward to continuing to innovate and advance NVMe technology for new industry initiatives and use cases.

View the NVMe 2.0 library of specifications.